Monday, November 18, 2002

Brainwashed, George Harrison, 2002

released 18 November 2002

The Tracks
1. Any Road (George Harrison) 3:52
2. P2 Vatican Blues (Last Saturday Night) (George Harrison) 2:39
3. Pisces Fish (George Harrison) 4:52
4. Looking For My Life (George Harrison) 3:49
5. The Rising Sun (George Harrison) 5:27
6. Marwa Blues (George Harrison) 3:41
7. Stuck Inside A Cloud (George Harrison) 4:05
8. Run So Far (George Harrison) 4:06
9. Never Get Over You (George Harrison) 3:26
10. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea (Harold Arlen/Ted Koehler) 2:35
11. Rocking Chair In Hawaii (George Harrison) 3:07
12. Brainwashed (George Harrison) 6:07

George's opening number, Any Road was recorded in 1988 while making the video for Got My Mind Set on You from the Cloud 9 album. The timeframe and general sound and feel of the song suggests that this so was an early intro into what would become the Traveling Wilburys. Co-producer Jeff Lynne and Harrison's son Dhani supply additional vocals and instruments while Wilbury's drummer Jim Keltner rounds out the song.

Track 8, Run So Far, is a reprise of Harrison's tune that was done 15 years earlier by Eric Clapton on the Journeyman album which was released in 1989. Absent in this version is Harrison's slide guitar that accompanied Clapton's vocals.

Jeff Lynne interview